Sign Up | Site Map | Log In

My Account
User Log-In
Forgot your password?

Latest additions
Per Gessle - Name... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - Name... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - Honu... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - En V... (12/08/17)
Per Gessle - Små... (10/16/17)

Latest updated
Per Gessle - Name... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - Name... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - Honu... (03/28/18)
Per Gessle - En V... (12/08/17)
Per Gessle - Små... (10/16/17)

Year most popular
Roxette - It Must Have... (4642)
Roxette - Favorites Fr... (3476)
Roxette - Touched By T... (1564)
Roxette - Why Don't Yo... (1322)
Roxette - Crash! Boom!... (1122)

Week popular
Roxette - Don't Bore U... (52)
Roxette - Don't Bore U... (42)
Roxette - It Must Have... (34)
Roxette - The Sweet He... (28)
Ulf Lundell - Sanna (25)

Day popular
Roxette - Look Sharp! (4)
Per Gessle - Scener (4)
Roxette - It's Possibl... (4)
Ulf Lundell - Sanna (4)
Roxette - Crash! Boom!... (3)

Not registered?
Register Now!
Join the member for
and get access to
more features!
It's easy and free.
User Log-In Forgot your password?
När natten blir dag (1)
The Per Gessle Archives. The Roxett... (1)
Sommartider (9)
Per Gessle - The World According To Gessle
Country Chile
Year 1997
Date of release 05/02/1997
Format MC
Label Fundamental Records
Number 856686-4

This release has been viewed 1119 times.

Track Listing
Side A
A1)Stupid 3:30
A2)Do you wanna be my baby? 3:56
A3)Saturday 3:53
A4)Kix 4:06
A5)I want you to know 3:56
A6)Reporter 4:17
A7)B-Any-1-U-Wanna-B 3:54
Side B
B1)Wish you the best 4:49
B2)Elvis in Germany (Let's celebrate!) 4:11
B3)T-T-T-Take it! 3:16
B4)I'll be alright 3:50
B5)There is my baby 3:48
B6)Lay down your arms 4:20
B7)Kix-cha-cha! (Ghost track which is "hidden" after song 13) 1:28

The World According To Gessle is Per Gessle's first solo album in English and it was recorded at Atlantis Studios, Polar Studios and EMI Studios in Stockholm between September 1996 and January 1997.

Marie Fredriksson makes a guest appearance on the song I'll Be Alright and musicians on the album were most of the members of Gyllene Tider as well as members of Roxette's band and members of the Swedish group Brainpool.

The song T-T-T-Take It! was originally written for Roxette and was meant to be included on the album Don't Bore Us - Get To The Chorus in 1995 but the song June Afternoon was chosen instead and T-T-T-Take It! finally ended up on this album.

The album also includes a ghost track which is a Different version of the song Kix and there is no information about this song on the sleeve or in the booklet. Per Gessle once stated in an interview that this song was called Kix-cha-cha! and that he was trying to sound like Elvis Presley when he recorded this version.

In Sweden the first promotion cassette was made in 100 copies but it had a different track list than the final album and therefore it was never sent out to the media. Because of the chnage of the track list a new promotion cassette was made and sent out to journalists in advance.

The Japanese issue of the CD includes the song Love Doesn't Live Here as a bonus track and this song is only available on this CD and on the single Kix.

Produced by Per Gessle, Michael Ilbert and Clarence Öfwerman. B-Any-1-U-Wanna-B was co-produced by Christoffer Lundquist.

Musical credits

Per Gessle - Vocals, backing vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, piano, harmonica, tambourine, Vox Jaguar and string arrangement

Mikael "Micke Nord" Andersson - Acoustic guitars, Mickael "Micke Syd" Andersson - Drums and percussion, David Birde - Electric and acoustic guitars, Marie Fredriksson - Vocals, Wojtek Galor - Tenor saxo-phone, Anders Herrlin - Bass guitar, Mats Holmquist - Conductor of strings, Erik Häusler - Baritone saxo-phone, Michael Ilbert - Percussion, programming and string arrangement, Jonas Isacsson - Electric guitars and E-bow, Christer Jansson - Drums and percussion, Jens Jansson - Drums and percussion, Jarl "Jalle" Lorensson - Harmonica, Christoffer Lundquist - Electric and bass guitars, zither, flute, minimoog and backing vocals, Mats "MP" Persson - Electric and acoustic guitars, E-bow and slide guitar, Per "Pelle" Sirén - Acoustic guitar, S.N.Y.K.O. (Stockholms Nya Kammarorkester) - Strings, Clarence Öfwerman - Acoustic guitar, mellotron, organ, piano, synthesizers, vocoder, Vox Jaguar, programming, string arrangement and backing vocals, Jackie Öfwerman - Vocals